The design of the IGOPP is based on two conceptual pillars:
• Disaster Risk Management and its main processes
• Governance and its public policy phases

With respect to Disaster Risk Management (DRM), the IGOPP is made up of six components pertaining to each DRM reform process: General Framework of Governance for DRM (GF), Risk Identification and Knowledge (RI), Risk Reduction (RR), Disaster Preparedness (DP), Post-Disaster Recovery Planning (RC), and Financial Protection (FP). All six DRM components have equal weight. 

All public policy phases and corresponding dimensions have equal weight.

Both factors (DRM and Governance) are shown in the IGOPP matrix structure, which has five columns that analyze the public policy phases, and six rows that analyze the components characterizing the reform processes of a suitable public policy for DRM. This matrix structure is expressed in 30 cells that make up a variable number of binary indicators.

Each cell can be identified by a DRM reform component prefix and a public policy phase suffix. For instance, cells GF-1A and GF-2 correspond to the respective interaction between the General Framework of Governance for DRM, with the Central Policy Coordination and Articulation and with Evidence of Progress in Policy Implementation, respectively. In total, the IGOPP is comprised of 241 binary indicators, which are aggregated to produce a score.